This website is using cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website. 

The page of Bjørnson, Bjørnstjerne, English biography

Image of Bjørnson, Bjørnstjerne
Bjørnson, Bjørnstjerne
(Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson)


Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson (8 December 1832 – 26 April 1910) was a Norwegian writer and the 1903 Nobel Prize in Literature laureate. Bjørnson is considered as one of The Four Greats (De Fire Store) Norwegian writers; the others being Henrik Ibsen, Jonas Lie, and Alexander Kielland. Bjørnson is celebrated for his lyrics to the Norwegian National Anthem, "Ja, vi elsker dette landet".

(Editor of this page: P. T.)

Literature ::
Translation ::